Skip to content

New York

July 10, 2010

I’ve been in NY for the past week for my day job and finally got a little time with the camera.  

One of the first things I noticed about the city is all the old water towers on top of the buildings; I assume they hail from the days before city water, and I wonder if they’re used for anything at all these days. 

There was this delightful little church surrounded by all these tall city buildings.

I found this sign humorous:

There are more on my Facebook page if you care to look me up.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tim permalink
    July 15, 2010 8:07 am

    The water tower thing has to do with the height of the building. It’s hard to get water up that high without having a tremendous amount of pressure behind it. Add a water tower to the top of a building and it equalizes pressure in the pipes. It also acts as fire protection for the upper floors. Back in the day it was much harder to get a fire hose up to the top of a 10 story building with the other end attached to a fire hydrant.

    Nowadays they are mostly for decoration.

    Sincerely,
    That dorky guy would took architectural history classes in school

Leave a comment