Skip to content

Old Friends

August 22, 2010

When I was 17, I met three girls who were to become a huge part of my life. BreeAnne, Elizabeth, Alyssa and I were inseperable for the next two years, and these three women supported me through romance and heartbreak, good decisions and bad. Looking back now, I can see how young and stupid we were (some of us more than others), but these were the women I wanted to keep in my life forever, the women I claimed as family.

After school, we each went to different assignments and got on with our lives in different parts of the country. We tried to keep in touch, but geography, money, and family obligations kept us apart for many years. Today, for the first time in 13 years, I saw BreeAnne; it was all I could do to let go after hugging her for what must have been five minutes. She and her family added several hours to an already insanely long road trip (Dallas to Baltimore) to see me, and I couldn’t have been happier. I finally met her husband and six children, and it really did my heart good to see her so happy. While we were hanging out at a local park, I was able to snap a few pictures of most of the kids (the oldest, Andrew, wouldn’t stay still long enough for me to get more than a colorful blur).

Today was the happiest day I’ve had in ages, and I owe it to my old friend. I just hope I’ll get to see her more often, and it gives me hope that I’ll be able to catch up with my other girlfriends before too many more years pass by.

One Comment leave one →
  1. BreeAnne permalink
    August 23, 2010 7:46 pm

    Tick, that was so sweet. I was thrilled beyond belief to get to see you again (seeing Frank was a nice bonus 😉 too). It was worth every second of the drive!

    Come see me soon!

Leave a Reply

